Enjoying Our Journey

Living, Loving and Learning Together

Caps for Sale

on March 22, 2013

One of the current favorite stories is Caps for Sale, so I was pleased to find these fun printables from Homeschool Creations to go along with the book.

Image

He really enjoys rolling the die and filling in the graph. I laminated the graph so that he can do this over and over again to his heart’s content.

 

 

Image

Here he matched up the pictures and the words. I wish I had a chart holder for these, but for now the table will do. They are also laminated so that he can use them again. I like to have self-directed activities available for when I need to work with his brothers. We have done this one with a few different themes and it is great to pull out when he says, “What can I do now? What’s next?”

 

 

Image

This was the first time that we used the Read! Build! Write! mats and cards. I think that this activity will become a regular in our rotation. It is great practice for reading, spelling and writing.

 

 

Image

My son went and got out his Lowercase Letter Tracing Cards to make sure that he had the letter formations correct. He can be somewhat of a perfectionist which can be a challenge. I have to admire his resourcefulness though in finding what he needed to complete the activity to his satisfaction.

 

 

Image

These pages where he can trace the words were easier for him to manage and will help build the confidence he needs to write more on his own.

 

 

Image

He joins in on our map and other activities from Story of the World, which is our history program. Today we were practicing Chinese calligraphy. (Post to follow with everyone’s work).

Those are the highlights from our week in Pre-K. 🙂

Do you have a Preschool or Kindergarten student? Check out the Preschool and Kindergarten Community over at Homeschool Creations for some great ideas and support.

4 responses to “Caps for Sale

  1. Kristal says:

    Caps for Sale is such a delightful book to read:)
    I really, really love the read it, write it, build it maps. Although mine are read/write/stamp it. I have not been as consistent with my kindergartner I should, but with 5 other kids also in school, I am trying to give myself a little leeway.

  2. Caroline says:

    I admire his resourcefulness in getting what he needed to check his work, too! And we LOVE the Read! Build! Write! cards, too!

Leave a Reply

